CBM in Math 12/3

Q: Based on the module and what you have learned over the last three classes, how might you use CBM in your own classroom?  What strategies or tips might you use?  What questions do you still have about using CBM?

A: After reading through the module, as well as previous discussions in class, there are a few different ways I could see myself using CBM in my classroom. Curriculum-based measurement is a tool used to track and monitor the students progress throughout the school year. Using CBM for math, as well as other curriculum areas, is a way for teachers to demonstrate growth of their students, as well as a decline in growth. Using this database also allows educators to communicate results to parents and other professionals that may need the information. Another crucial reasons for implementing this measurement is for teachers to assess their own teaching and its effectiveness on the class (IRIS Module). There are a number of different ways I would use this curriculum-based measurement in my classroom. For example: I would use this to set goals for/with my students. After looking at some results, we would be able to sit down, see what is and is not working, and set goals for the future. These goals can be done through benchmarks, National norms, or intra- individual framework (IRIS Module). This would involve the use of graphing data, which is another way I would implement CMB. An effective strategy to use could be altering instructional strategies after looking at the data. If I am finding that a majority of the students do poorly on a certain area/after something is taught a specific way, it may indicate that my teaching techniques were not effective. One tip from the module that I find to be very effective and important would be involving your students. You want to show them their progress to ensure that they understand when they are improving and when they need more attention in a given area. Students should be involved in their curriculum-based measurement, and have the opportunity to see how they are doing in school throughout the year.

**All info from IRIS Module/Class**

 

Leave a comment